Androids scripting electric sheeps

Outlining on computer has been a disastrous exercise for me. Mainly because of a black hole in my computer called the internet. So I was happy when gifted a touch screen media device a few days back. No where near the ipad or the slew of imitators. But cheap enough to avoid stressing about losing it or dropping it and crude enough to refrain wasting too much time on it. But I was happy because now I had a pdf reader and also something to jot down, or rather punch in random outlining notes for my scripts while travelling.

Oh yeah, I am travelling a lot these days. In fact I travel around 2 1/2 hours each day to do 1 1/2 hours of work. Its called community posting. So I (have decided to) spend most of my travelling time outlining. The problem with outlining stage is that for every point in the story you can think of four five different routes to explore and if you don’t scribble down those different routes at different different points, you forget to explore so many interesting possibilities later on. So every 15 minutes or so, I need to jot. Typing on phone is too cumbersome. Earlier I used to scribble on whatever I could lay hands on, trying to balance the vibration of the locomotive or memorise the important things till I reach some land so that I can doodle. But now as I had a new gadget, I don’t have to worry. Or so I thought.

Within one or two days, the problems became clear to me. Even typing on touch screen was cumbersome. But much more difficult problem was that while outlining, I was no more able to be spontaneous in my thinking. To write some thing down, usually I need gaps of 10-15 minutes of thinking which was becoming uncomfortable now because of the awareness that the battery life is dwindling. So I also started this tendency to doodle some pseudo-important points just to write something on the goddamn thing. Also rearranging the lines of scribbling, changing the font and size etc became important preoccupations. This went on for about a week.

Now I am back to pen and paper to outline. Even if I am not able to write, it is fine. Even if my new toy lies idle in my room, it is fine. Better to have some interesting ideas which I forgot than have none at all.

Photo by frooglekade

Leave a Reply

